Remember how I said I needed to expand my palette and try new things?
Well I did, and I didn't like it.
Woody and I were headed out to eat (yet again) and he suggested something called Ramen. It's not the soup that we admired in our college days, it's something else. And while I never, like never agree with Woody's restaurant choices, I thought I'd be a nice wife this day and try this so-called-ramen that he has raved about (but,I'm not exactly sure he's had it either).
Well our GPS ended up taking us all the way to Wakiki which is not where we planned to go so we just decided to wing it.
When you don't know where you are or where you really live exactly...don't wing it. Just a quick tip.
Anyways, we ended up on this semi sketchy street with lots of little cafes and restaurants andwe came across a place that was written in Japanese (or Chinese I don't know), it wasn't ramen but we still creeped in window and saw people enjoying their meal that they were cooking themselves at their tables. Woody and I said, "Oh that looks like fun, let's eat that!"
First off, we were the only people not of pure Asian descent( initiate intimidation factor).... And when you can't understand the waiter, it's was making me a little sweaty. But we still let on and ordered whatever picture looked "good"
So they come out with the pot....
(uh what is that)
and the vegetables...
(ok really, what is that urchin doing on the plate?)
We asked the waiter, "So, what do we do with this?" and he said, pointing to the pot, "Put in der!"
So we did as told and it wasn't looking good, but we got ourselves in this mess. I hadn't tried it at this point, maybe it'll taste like that miso soup or something...
Um no.
I barely could muster eating what I had in front of me.
Then we saw this...
I couldn't do it, not only did we have a pot full of weird tasting soup, we had apparently ordered the buffet type meal so it was like even more then a normal plate(whatever a normal plate looks like). I really tried to eat what I could. My husband pulled through and ate as much as he could (he actually did like it, just didn't know what we were doing!) We spoke to the waiter/manager and he said since it was our first time, he wouldn't charge us for the leftovers.
Definitely a bust. BTW, if you don't know what this is called we found out later that this type of meal is called Hot Pot (makes sense now). Very popular for the true Asian kinds. I'm sorry to have shamed you.
I enjoy spontaneity from time to time. This time just happened to be a miss, but I can say that I've tried something once and that it's definitely a taste I don't want to try again.
So I went back to something I do know.
And that was my last cheeseburger, cause I ran the next day and about died.
Sorry heart.
xo,